American Concrete Institute names new officers, board members at Concrete Convention

The American Concrete Institute (ACI) introduced two new officers and four board members for 2016-2017 during the recent Concrete Convention and Exposition in Milwaukee.


The new president is Michael J. Schneider, senior vice president and chief people officer at Baker Concrete Construction in Monroe, Ohio. He was named a Fellow of ACI in 2006 and served on the ACI Board of Direction as chair of the Strategic Development Council and the ACI Foundation. He received the ACI Roger H. Corbetta Concrete Constructor Award in 2011.

David A. Lange will serve as vice president for a two-year term. He is a professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Lange has served on the ACI Board of Direction and is a past chairman of the ACI Technical Activities Committee, the Publications Committee, and the Board Outlook 2030 Task Group. He was given the ACI Wason Medal for Most Meritorious Paper in 2003.

The new directors include:

  • Frances T. Griffith, associate director of the Center for Training Transportation Professionals (CTTP), Department of Civil Engineering, at the University of Arkansas.
  • Doug Hooton, professor and NSERC/Cement Association of Canada Senior Industrial Research chair in Concrete Durability and Sustainability in the Department of Civil Engineering at the University of Toronto.
  • Neven Krstulovic-Opara, engineering associate with ExxonMobil, Spring, Texas, leading the structural engineering research (Arctic) group of ExxonMobil’s Upstream Research Company.
  • Antonio Nanni, inaugural senior scholar, professor, and chair of the Department of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering, University of Miami, Coral Gables, Florida, and Professore Ordinario, Dipartimento di Strutture per l’Ingegneria e l’Architettura, UniversitĂ  di Napoli – Federico II, Napoli, Italy.