APA announces 7 state DOTs as winners for 2014 Perpetual Pavement Awards

Updated Apr 24, 2015

pavementThe Asphalt Pavement Alliance (APA), in coordination with the National Center for Asphalt Technology (NCAT) have selected seven transportation agencies to receive the 2014 Perpetual Pavement Awards, honoring these departments for their work in successful “long-life” asphalt roads.

NCAT engineers evaluate “well-performing asphalt pavements” that are 35 years old or older, have had no structural failures, and have had at least 12 years between resurfacing. “The road must demonstrate the characteristics expected from a long-life, Perpetual Pavement design: excellence in design; quality in construction; and value for taxpayers,” APA said in a statement.

The winners for 2014 include:

  • Alabama Department of Transportation (ALDOT) – 5.54-mile section of the Abbeville Bypass in Henry County. (Sixth Perpetual Pavement Award for ALDOT.)
  • Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department (AHTD) – 2.54 miles of US 71 in Sevier County from milepost 1.16 to 3.70. (Fifth Perpetual Pavement Award for AHTD.)
  • Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) – SR 44 in Lake County from the intersection of CR 437 to the Volusia County line — between milepost 7.82 and 24.08. (Fifth Perpetual Pavement Award for FDOT.)
  • Indiana Department of Transportation – 14-mile section of U.S. 31 in Fulton and Miami Counties, from 0.5 miles south of SR 16 to Old US 31. (First Perpetual Pavement Award in Indiana.)
  • Minnesota Department of Transportation (MnDOT) – four-lane SR 47, a 4-mile project that extends from CSAH 2 in Columbia Heights, Minn., to 73rd Avenue North in the city of Fridley. (Thirteenth Perpetual Pavement Award for MnDOT, the most for any transportation agency.)
  • Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) – roughly 3-mile long segment of SR 2005, also known as Raccoon Run Road, in Allegheny County. (Fourth Perpetual Pavement Award for PennDOT.)
  • Tennessee Department of Transportation (TDOT) – 3.5-mile section on SR 40 in Polk County from 0.2 miles east of US 68 in the city of Ducktown to the North Carolina state line. (Tenth Perpetual Pavement Award for TDOT.)

The Asphalt Institute, National Asphalt Pavement Association, and the State Asphalt Pavement Associations make up the partnership that is the APA.