PennDOT employees receive Governor’s Award of Excellence, Star of Excellence Awards

Pennsylvania Welcome SignThirty-five Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) employees  were recently recognized for their contributions to the agency and the state with the Governor’s Awards for Excellence and the Star of Excellence Awards.

The awards recognize state employees for “exemplary job performance or service that reflects initiative, leadership, innovation and increased efficiency.”

“Six PennDOT employees were part of a team of seven state employees honored for their role in relocating approximately 130,000 mussels from the construction area of the Hunter Station Bridge in Forest County,” the agency reports. “Many of the mussels were endangered or threatened species. The move prevented a 44-mile detour for over 1,100 vehicles each day and gave the species opportunities to re-establish populations in areas where they have not existed in over a century.”

Employees receiving the award include:

  • Autumn Kelley, environmental specialist, District 1
  • Chris Wolfgong, environmental planner, District 1
  • Marc Rickard, environmental planner, District 1
  • Jeannette Uhl, highway design manager, District 1
  • Larry Lineman, traffic control specialist, District 1
  • Antonia Zawisa, district environmental specialist, Central Office
  • Jordan Allison, fisheries biologist with the Pennsylvania Fish and Boat Commission

“The employees being recognized have gone above and beyond their job requirements to provide outstanding service and make government more responsive and effective,” says Gov. Tom Wolf. “Their accomplishments are truly exemplary and inspiring. We are fortunate to have such outstanding public servants working for the people of Pennsylvania.”

Individual and group awards​ were presented to 30 other state employees during a ceremony May 22.

The Star of Excellence Awards is PennDOT’s highest recognition.

“The Star of Excellence award illustrates that these employees take to heart our mission of providing the most effective and efficient transportation services for the roughly 12 million people of Pennsylvania,” says PennDOT Secretary Leslie S. Richards. “They demonstrate a strong culture of service and caring that makes a big difference for the people of Pennsylvania.”

Winners of the 2017 Star of Excellence Awards include:

Central Office

  • Steve Cowan, District 11 press officer, Press Office
  • Shane P. Daniels, senior application developer supervisor, Administration
  • Sara McFadden, human resource analyst 3, Administration
  • Brian D. Hare, P.E., division manager, Planning & Contract Management, Planning
  • Mark Kopko, manager, Traveler Information & Advanced Vehicle Technology, Highway Administration
  • Thomas P. Macioce, P.E., chief bridge engineer, Highway Administration
  • Robert Sharp, acting mass transit manager 2, Multimodal Transportation
  • Timothy L. Singleton, Lancaster Driver License Center supervisor, Driver & Vehicle Services

District 1

  • Darrell R. Chapman, senior highway maintenance manager
  • Jimmy Jones, highway drafter

District 2

  • Matthew P. Lama, transportation construction inspection supervisor
  • Shawn E. McFarland, P.E., civil engineer manager

District 3

  • Betty L. Conner, roadway programs coordinator
  • Roberta J. Boyles, labor relations coordinator

District 4

  • Paul R. Smith, transportation construction manager 2
  • Richard G. Summa, bridge and structural design supervisor

District 5

  • Michael R. Haney Jr., equipment manager
  • Owen Wilcox, roadway program coordinator

District 6

  • John P. Clancy, highway foreman 2
  • Brian A. Early, P.E., senior assistant construction engineer

District 8

  • Kris Feldmeyer, maintenance manager
  • Brian Glass, assistant county maintenance manager

District 9

  • David S. Kammerer, E.I.T., highway maintenance manager
  • Kevin M. Gnegy, P.E., civil engineer manager

District 10

  • William J. Moorhead Jr., highway foreman 2
  • Steven M. Vasbinder, transportation construction inspector supervisor

District 11

  • Cheryl A. Solosky, P.E., bridge and structural design supervisor
  • Timothy B. Hann, E.I.T., civil engineer

District 12

  • Robert C. Dean, P.E., Westmoreland County, acting county maintenance manager
  • Tammy Kiger, Washington County, highway foreman 2 – sign foreman