CUTC honors educators and students for contributions to transportation research and education

highway-roadThe Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) has recognized several individuals including transportation educators, students and industry advocates for their “outstanding contributions to transportation research and education.”

The CUTC was formed in 1979 as a forum for educational systems to “interact collectively” with government entities and the transportation industry. Membership includes more than 90 university-based transportation research and education programs.

Receiving Lifetime Achievement in Transportation Research and Education Awards were Norman Mineta, former U. S. Secretary of Transportation, and Dr. Edd Hauser, director of the Center for Transportation Policy Studies at the University of North Carolina-Charlotte. The award is given to those serving mostly in government, business or non-governmental organizations.

Others recognized include:

  • CUTC-American Road & Transportation Builders (ARTBA) New Faculty Award: Presented to tenure-track educators in recognition of outstanding teaching and research contributions: Vikash V. Gayah, assistant professor at Pennsylvania State University
  • CUTC-ARTBA Administrative Leadership Award: Honors individuals in a staff or non-tenure-track faculty position who have made outstanding administrative leadership contributions to the field of transportation: Ines Aviles-Spadoni, coordinator of research programs at the Southeastern Transportation Research, Innovation, Development & Education Center (STRIDE) at the University of Florida Transportation Institute (UFTI)
  • Milton Pikarsky Memorial Award: Presented to two graduate students in the transportation field for the best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on science and technology: Alexandre Jacquillat, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, and Michael Levin, the University of Texas at Austin
  • Charlie V. Wootan Memorial Award: Given annually to two graduate students in the transportation field for the best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on policy and planning: Maite Pena-Alcaraz and Samuel J. Levy, both of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • The Neville A. Parker Award: Recognizes the best non-thesis paper in the field of policy and planning in transportation studies: Rebecca Walters of the Mineta Transportation Institute at San JosĂ© State University, and Yu (Julie) Qiao of Purdue University.

CUTC also recognized 50 “most outstanding” students from University Transportation Centers across America for their achievements and “promise of future contributions to the transportation field.”