CUTC honors 9 individuals for advancing transportation research

award-151151_640The Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC)  has honored nine individuals for their outstanding contributions to transportation research and education. Out of the nine individuals, three are leaders in transportation academia, five are students, and one is a long-time industry advocate.

Honorees were recognized on January 10th during CUTC’s Annual Awards Banquet in Washington, D.C. Awards were presented in these categories:

The Lifetime Achievement in Transportation Research & Education: Recognizes individuals who have contributed immensely throughout their professional lives to transportation research and education by working in government, business or non-governmental organizations.

Robert Skinner, Jr., executive director, Transportation Research Board in Washington, D.C.  

Distinguished Contribution to University Transportation and Research: Given to individuals who have had a long history of significant and outstanding contribution to university-level transportation education and research.

Dr. Neville Parker, Herbert G. Kayser professor of civil engineering and director of the CUNY Institute for Transportation Systems in New York

CUTC-ARTBA New Faculty Award: Presented to tenure-track educators in recognition of outstanding teaching and research contributions.

Dr. Stephen Boyles, assistant professor, The University of Texas at Austin, Texas  

CUTC-ARTBA Administrative Leadership Award: Honors individuals in a staff or non-tenure-track faculty position who have made outstanding administrative leadership contributions to the field of transportation.

Dr. Karen Philbrick, executive director, Mineta Transportation Institute, San JosĂ©, California 
Milton Pikarsky Award: Presented to two graduate students in the transportation field for the best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on science and technology.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter!

Jack Reilly, University of California, Berkeley 
Jeffrey Taylor, University of Utah 

Charlie V. Wootan Award: is given annually to two graduate students in the transportation field for the best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on policy and planning.

Dr. Ian Carlton, University of California, Berkeley
Chester Harvey, University of Vermont 

Neville A. Parker Award: Recognizes the best non-thesis paper in transportation submitted for the M.S. degree in lieu of a thesis, in the areas of policy & planning.

Deanna Smith, Mineta Transportation Institute, San JosĂ©, California