Morgan State University professor honored with ARTBA Research & Education Division Award

Dr. Z. Andrew Farkas, director and professor at the National Transportation Center at Morgan State University, is the 2012 recipient of the American Road & Transportation Builders Association’s (ARTBA) “S.S. Steinberg Award.”  It was presented January 23 in Washington, D.C.

The award, named after the founding president ARTBA’s Research and Education Division (RED), annually “recognizes individuals who have made remarkable contributions to the field of transportation education.”  Farkas was selected by his peers for his career body of work.

He is a nationally-recognized expert on research and teaching in transportation economics and policy, logistics, systems evaluation, urban transportation, and land use.  He has previously been president of both the ARTBA RED and the Council of University Transportation Centers.

Dr. Farkas has served at Morgan State University since 1983, rising from associate professor to professor and then director of the National Center for Transportation Management, Research and Development.  He worked as a transportation engineering economist for the U.S. Department of Agriculture Forest Service and as a research associate in economics for the Georgia Department of Transportation.  He received his doctorate from the University of Georgia in 1978.