OCTA names new chair of its board of directors

Orange County Transportation Authority (OCTA) Vice Chair

Patricia BatesPatricia Bates

has been unanimously selected  as the new chair of the OCTA board of directors.

Bates replaces outgoing OCTA Chairman Jerry Amante, who continues to serve on the board as the city representative from the Third District.

“I’m humbled that my colleagues have selected me to lead this agency in delivering transportation solutions to improve the quality of life for our residents,” Bates said. “OCTA has successfully weathered the economic storm and I look forward to the coming year as we continue to seek innovative ways to keep Orange County moving.”

Bates is the Fifth District Orange County Supervisor representing the cities of Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, Laguna Beach, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Mission Viejo, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente and San Juan Capistrano.

Bates joined the OCTA board in 2007 and has contributed significantly as a member of several key OCTA committees – Legislative and Communications Committee, Executive Committee, Finance and Administration Committee and Highways Committee.

Replacing Bates as vice chair is Laguna Niguel Councilmember Paul Glaab, who joined the board in 2006. In addition to serving on the OCTA board of directors, Glaab is a member of the Metrolink board of directors, Orange County Council of Governments and California Council of Governments.

OCTA also welcomed three new board members at today’s meeting, Fullerton Mayor Don Bankhead, Fountain Valley Mayor Larry Crandall and Lake Forest Mayor Peter Herzog.

For more information regarding Bates, view her bio at www.octa.net/patbates.