10 DOTs win 2016 Perpetual Pavement Award

Updated Apr 11, 2017

Perpetual Pavement AwardThe Asphalt Pavement Alliance (APA) presented 10 departments of transportation with 2016 Perpetual Pavement Awards. The award recognizes state transportation departments and local agencies for asphalt pavements at least 35 years old that have proven, high-quality structural design and are performing well. The pavement must have had a structural failure, should have an average of at least 12 years between resurfacing intervals, and must demonstrate excellence in design, quality in construction, and value to taxpayers.

Engineers at Auburn University’s National Center for Asphalt Technology (NCAT) evaluated the nominations and announced the following winners:

The Alabama Department of Transportation received its 8th Perpetual Pavement Award for a 2.5-mile section of four-lane divided highway on U.S. Highway 31/State Route 3 in Morgan County, between Hartselle and Decatur.

The Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department received its 7th award Perpetual Pavement Award for a 2-mile stretch of U.S. Route 167 in Sharp County, between Cave City and Ash Flat.

The Colorado Department of Transportation received its 2nd award Perpetual Pavement Award for a 10.5-mile section of U.S. Route 40 through Rabbit Ears Pass in Grand, Routt, and Jackson counties.

Colorado Dot 1

Colorado DOT award-winning project.

The Florida Department of Transportation received its 7th Perpetual Pavement Award for a two-lane arterial on Florida State Road 415 in Volusia County.

The Minnesota Department of Transportation received an award for a 7.7-mile, two-lane stretch of Minnesota State Highway 371 in Cass County, between Pine River and Backus, Minn. This is MnDOT’s 15th Perpetual Pavement Award, more than any other state or agency.

The Montana Department of Transportation received its 4th Perpetual Pavement Award for a 9.5-mile, four-lane, divided median section of Interstate 15 in Beaverhead County.

Montana Dot Project

Montana DOT award-winning project.

The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation received its 6th Perpetual Pavement Award for a 2.89-mile section of two-lane Pennsylvania Route 73 in Berks County, between Maidencreek and Ruscombmanor townships.

The South Carolina Department of Transportation received its 6th Perpetual Pavement Award for a 2.6-mile, four-lane, divided section of Interstate 26 in Berkeley County.

The Tennessee Department of Transportation received its 12th Perpetual Pavement Award for a 2.8-mile section of two-lane highway on State Route 50 in Maury County.

The Washington State Department of Transportation received its 3rd Perpetual Pavement Award for a 5.01-mile, four-lane divided median segment of State Route 512 in Pierce County.

Winners receive an engraved crystal obelisk, and have their names and projects added to a plaque on display at Auburn University’s NCAT Research Center.