Nine individuals to receive awards for transportation research, education

cutc-logo copy

The Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) will honor three leaders in transportation academia, five students and one long-time industry advocate for their outstanding contributions to transportation research and education.

Rod Diridon, Sr.Rod Diridon, Sr.

CUTC will recognize the honorees at its 17th Annual Awards Banquet on January 11 in Washington, D.C.

The following honorees will receive awards:

Rod Diridon, Sr., executive director at the Mineta National Transit Research Consortium and the Mineta Transportation Institute, will receive an award in the Lifetime Achievement in Transportation Research & Education category. This award recognizes individuals who have contributed immensely throughout their professional lives to transportation research and education by working in government, business or non-governmental organizations.

Genevieve Giuliano, Ph.D.Genevieve Giuliano, Ph.D.

Genevieve Giuliano, Ph.D., professor and John Ferraro chair in effective local government and senior associate dean for research and technology at the University of Southern California, will receive an award in the Distinguished Contribution to University Transportation and Research category. This award is given to individuals who have had a long history of significant and outstanding contribution to university-level transportation education and research.

Amit Bhasin, Ph.D., assistant professor at The University of Texas-Austin, will receive the CUTC-ARTBA New Faculty Award. This award is presented to tenure-track educators in recognition of outstanding teaching and research contributions.

Amit Bhasin, Ph.D.Amit Bhasin, Ph.D.

Patrick Szary, Ph.D., associate director at the Center for Advanced Infrastructure and Transportation (CAIT) at Rutgers -The State University of New Jersey, will receive the CUTC-ARTBA Administrative Leadership Award. This award honors individuals in a staff position or non-tenure-track faculty position who make outstanding administrative leadership contributions to the transportation field by non-academic appointments.

Rajesh Paleti and Sriram Narayanamoorth, both students at The University of Texas at Austin, will receive the Milton Pikarsky Award. This award is presented to two graduate students in the transportation field for best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on science and technology.

Patrick SzaryPatrick Szary

Ranjit Godavarthy, Ph.D., student at Kansas State University, and Christina Bernado, student at The University of Texas at Austin, will both receive the Charlie V. Wootan Award. This award is given annually to two graduate students in the transportation field for the best doctoral dissertation and M.S. thesis with an emphasis on policy and planning.

Martin Barna, student at San Jose State University, will receive the Neville A. Parker Award. This award recognizes the best non-thesis paper in transportation submitted for the M.S. degree in lieu of a thesis, in the areas of policy & planning.

For more information, visit