NSSGA announces Safety, Environmental and Community Relations Excellence Awards

National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association (NSSGA) on Feb. 14 announced the Gold, Silver and Bronze winners of NSSGA’s Safety, Environmental and Community Relations Excellence Awards, in addition to the association’s top honor – The Stars of Excellence for operations that accumulate Gold Awards in Safety, Environmental or Community Relations during a five-year period.

The awards program recognizes aggregates operations throughout the United States and Canada for their extraordinary commitment to safety, for their superior performance as environmental stewards and for their community involvement and support activities that have enhanced the image of the aggregates industry during 2010-2011. The Stars of Excellence and all Gold Awards in each category will be presented at NSSGA’s 2012 Annual Convention in Charlotte at the Westin Charlotte hotel on March 12.

Two Stars of Excellence

Pioneers Aggregates


DuPont, Wash.

Gold Award Winners


Safety Excellence Award Winners

Tilcon Connecticut Inc.,

an Oldcastle company

Southington Sand & Gravel Small Southington, Conn.
Martin Marietta Materials Helotes Plant Medium San Antonio, Texas
Martin Marietta Materials New Braunfels Quarry Large New Braunfels, Texas

Safety Sterling Award Winners

Iddings Quarry, Inc. Small Mifflinburg, Pa.
Dalrymple Holding Corp. Medium Pine City, N.Y.
Specialty Granules Inc. Large Hagerstown, Md.


Arena Sand & Gravel Lehigh Hanson Garwood, Texas
Ball Ground Quarry Lafarge Nelson, Ga.
Bridgeport Quarry Lehigh Hanson Chico, Texas
Center Hill Quarry CEMEX Center, Fla.
Lacey’s Spring Quarry Rogers Group, Inc. Lacey’s Spring, Ala.
Littleton Quarry Aggregate Industries Littleton, Mass.                          Gold

Community Relations

Riverdale/Pompton Lakes Quarry Tilcon New York Inc.,                                                                                      Riverdale, N.J. and

an Oldcastle®company

Riverdale and Pompton Lakes, N.J.
Gator Sand Mine CEMEX Davenport, Fla.
Pioneer Aggregates CalPortland DuPont, Wash.
Searcy Quarry Vulcan Materials Company Judsonia, Ark.
McCook Quarry Vulcan Materials Company McCook, Ill.
SMI Ostrander Quarry The Shelly Company, an Oldcastle® company Ostrander, Ohio
West Nyack Quarry Tilcon New York Inc.,

an Oldcastle® company

West Nyack, N.Y.

“We are so pleased to be able to recognize CalPortland’s Pioneer Aggregates with the National Stars of Excellence award, in addition to all our Gold Award winners,” said NSSGA President and CEO Joy Wilson in a press release. “Every day, our members continue to show their commitment to the industry and their communities in promoting safe working conditions, recognizing the importance of environmental stewardship and maintaining outstanding community relations.  These awards demonstrate their important contributions to a sustainable America.”

“Our winners  have every reason to be proud of their achievements,” said NSSGA Chairman of the Board Dave Thomey, executive vice president, Maryland Materials Inc., in a written statement. “I congratulate each of these operations for their commitment to outstanding corporate citizenship and support of their communities. They remind us of the important role the aggregates industry plays in ensuring a greater quality of life in America.”

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers
How High Fuel Prices hurt Your Business
Presented by EquipmentWatch
8 Crucial Elements of a Tire Safety Program
Presented by Michelin North America
Selecting the Correct Construction Tire Solution
Presented by Michelin North America

NSSGA’s National Stars of Excellence program began in 2001 and is presented to those operations earning two or more of any of the following gold awards over a five-year period:

Safety Excellence, Environmental Excellence and Excellence in Community Relations. Each operation is awarded a number of stars corresponding to the number of gold awards won. A Three-Star Award winner is NSSGA’s Sustainability Award recipient – the highest award that can be achieved by an operation from the association.

The Sterling Safety Award was created in 1994 to recognize the companies that have the lowest total accident incidence rate for the previous year in their category among NSSGA member companies. The Safety Excellence Program was created in 1987 to promote safe working conditions and practices and to recognize, on an annual basis, individual operations with exemplary safety records among NSSGA member companies.

The Environmental Excellence Awards program was created in 1992 to provide national recognition for aggregate producers that meet and exceed technical, environmental and regulatory requirements.

Finally, the Excellence in Community Relations Program was created in 1989 to recognize aggregate producers whose community involvement and support activities have enhanced the public’s perception of the aggregates industry in general and the public image of the individual producer’s aggregate operation in particular.