ABC names Contractor of the Year

The Associated Builders and Contractors bestowed its Contractor of the Year award Feb. 26 to Dennis Weller, president and chief executive officer of Structural Associates, East Syracuse, N.Y.

ABC presents the award annually at its national convention. ABC President Kirk Pickerel said Weller was chosen for the award because he demonstrates ABC’s philosophy in an area of the country where unions are dominant in construction.

“Weller and his firm, Structural Associates, have pursued a free enterprise, merit shop approach to construction in a state and region that has long been dominated by those who oppose such concepts,” Pickerel said. “His commitment to construction excellence, technological advancement and professionalism also made him an invaluable member of the ABC national executive committee.”

Weller said the award was a complete surprise.

“Tis award is the highest honor and I was totally overwhelmed,” he said. “I didn’t even know that I was a contender. The award may be an individual award, but it is a group effort by the company. It goes as much to them as it does me.”

Weller’s company specializes in aviation related construction projects, process work and institutional/educational facilities. Instead of hiring numerous subcontractors for its jobs, the company handles most of the work, including utility development, earthwork, masonry, concrete work and carpentry, with its own employees. Weller said his belief in quality construction and fairness to employees makes his company unique.

“I am a firm believer in quality work and merit shop construction,” he said. “Fairness is also important, to take care of the employees and treat them like you would want to be treated.”

Weller presently serves as chairman of the ABC Chapter Development Committee, is finance chair of the Insurance Trust and is ABC’s representative to the National Construction Industry Image Steering Committee of the National Center for Construction Education and Research. In the past he represented the Northeastern region of the United States as ABC Region 7 vice chairman on the ABC national executive committee.