AASHTO names WVDOT’s Gillispie as chair of product evaluation program committee

Updated Aug 10, 2017

Shutterstock 114695392American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) President David Bernhardt has appointed West Virginia Department of Transportation’s (WVDOT) Aaron Gillispie as chair of the National Transportation Product Evaluation Program (NTPEP) Oversight Committee.

Gillispie is the chief engineer at WVDOT’s Division of Highways and previously served as director of the department’s Materials Control, Soils and Testing Division.

His appointment, which has to be confirmed by AASHTO’s Executive Committee, is for two years.

The NTPEP, AASHTO reports, is a “public-private partnership providing single-source testing of common products used by state DOTs and manufactured to AASHTO standards.”

The program also performs audits and on-site inspection of facilities making the products.