Arkansas businessman to chair TRIP in 2015

Updated Feb 1, 2015
Don Weaver.Don Weaver.

Don Weaver,  Executive Vice President of Weaver Bailey Contractors in El Paso, Arkansas, has been elected 2015 chairman of the Board of Directors of TRIP, a national transportation research nonprofit based in Washington, D.C.

Weaver-Baily Contractors was founded in 1960 as a specialty general contractor with an emphasis on quality concrete paving.  Today, Weaver-Bailey is recognized as the largest main line concrete paver in Arkansas.

Weaver joined the TRIP Board of Directors in 2004 and was appointed to its executive committee in 2008.

“Weaver Bailey Contractors strongly supports TRIP’s efforts to increase public awareness of the need to invest in America’s surface transportation system and I look forward to leading this fine organization,” Weaver said in a statement. “TRIP’s efforts to inform the public and lawmakers about the critical issues facing America’s transportation system are more important than ever as the debate over federal surface transportation funding continues in the nation’s capital; improving America’s surface transportation system not only saves lives and creates jobs, it also impacts our lives every day by increasing our mobility and accessibility, here in Arkansas, and throughout the country.”

In addition to his service as a TRIP director, Mr. Weaver is a past chairman of the AGC of America Highway and Transportation Division and past president of the Arkansas State Associated General Contractors.

TRIP also elected the following individuals as officers for 2015: Scott Williams, President,Hamilton Construction Company, Springfield, Ore., was elected president; Nick Yaksich, Vice President – Global Public Policy, Association of Equipment Manufacturers, Milwaukee, Wis., was elected first vice president; David R. Gehr, Sr. Vice President, Highway Market Leader – Americas, Parsons Brinckerhoff, Herndon Va. was elected second vice president; and, L. Jeffrey DiStefano, Vice President, Harrison & Burrowes Bridge Constructors, Inc., Glenmont, N.Y., was re-elected secretary-treasurer.

TRIP also elected the following individuals to three year terms on its Board of Directors: John M. Irvine, Manager, Business Development, The Lane Construction Corporation, Chantilly, Virginia and Seth Myers, Vice President, Business Development, American Infrastructure, Worcester, Pa.