SASHTO presents scholarships to students from Louisiana universities

Updated Jan 27, 2017

Students from several Louisiana universities have been presented with $1,000 scholarships each from a program funded by the Southeastern Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (SASHTO) in conjunction with the Louisiana Department of Transportation and Development (LDOTD) and the Louisiana Transportation Research Center (LTRC).

“These future transportation leaders represent some of the best and brightest of Louisiana in the civil engineering field at six state universities, and we hope these scholarships inspire them to achieve new heights,” says LDOTD Secretary Shawn D. Wilson, who presented the awards.

Civil engineering students receiving the scholarships include:

  • Louisiana Tech University ­– Cameron Broussard, Cody Abshire, Hunter Calhoon, Lane Brister, Matthew Upshaw, Ryan Barton, Stetson Keen, Taylor Cappe, Tyler Bridges and Victor Seth Bivens.
  • McNeese State University – Matthew Mixon and Trent Hargrave.
  • Louisiana State University – Alyssa Bienes, Amanda Jackson,
  • Claire Like, Dione Simpson, Jonathan Mayeaux, Kelsie Bankston, Kimmy Phan, Logan Miller, William Saunders and William Warwick
  • Southern University – Faren Spooner, Harry Pieterson and Juanica Douse Banks
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette – Julia Ross, Jacob Neu and Joshua Laborde.
  • University of New Orleans – Dillan Crawford and Crystal Suggs.

“SASHTO scholarships are given each year to juniors and seniors in civil engineering in Louisiana universities with a professed interest in the transportation field,” LDOTD reports. “Applicants must not only be in good standing academically, but their grade point average is a major consideration in evaluating their application. Students are also required to submit a one-page description, outlining how their curriculum choices support their interest in the transportation field, and they are given additional credit for having worked for DOTD in either the summer engineering or co-op programs.”