Missouri DOT wins two AASHTO awards for innovation and technology

Updated Nov 29, 2016

RoadtotomorrowTwo Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) special-assignment teams that focus on customer service, safety and the future of the state’s transportation network were recognized by the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials (AASHTO) at its annual meeting.

MoDOT’s Field Traffic Alert System Team won AASHTO’s Francis B. Francois Award for innovation. The award recognizes efforts that establish, increase or enhance value to the public, and provides $10,000 for MoDOT to fund a graduate fellowship at a state university still to be determined.

“The Field Traffic Alert System team created a system to provide drivers with improved traffic information, and to speed incident response,” MoDOT says.

Members of the team include:

  • Brandon Campbell – Traffic Operations Engineer, Southwest District
  • Chris Engelbrecht – District Safety and Health Manager, Central District
  • Stuart Harlan – Lead Information System Technologist, Central Office
  • Jon Nelson – Traffic Safety Engineer, Central Office
  • Raymond Shank – Senior Traffic Studies Specialist, Central Office
  • Mark Sommerhauser – Transportation Project Manager, Kansas City District
  • Julie Stotlemeyer – Traffic Liaison Engineer, Central Office

The department’s Road to Tomorrow Team was presented with AASHTO’s President’s Award for “performing exemplary service that furthers the activities of MoDOT, and which has, or potentially could have, a salutary impact on transportation nationwide or on a regional basis.”

“Road to Tomorrow is taking steps to find ways to add value to the state transportation system, to enhance its funding streams, and to prepare MoDOT to integrate 21st century technologies into its transportation system and services,” the agency says. “The team is currently working with private sector partners to implement pilot projects to test solar roadways, smart pavement and incorporation of the ‘Internet of Things.’ ”

Members of the team include:

  • Tom Blair – Asst. District Engineer, St. Louis District
  • Bob Brendel – Special Assignments Coordinator, Central Office
  • Kellen Burns – Sr. Communications Specialist, Central Office
  • Jennifer Harper – Research Engineer, Central Office
  • Jon Nelson – Traffic Safety Engineer, Central Office
  • James Pflum – Resident Engineer, Kansas City District
  • Hilary Hamlin – Information Systems Technologist, Central Office