AASHTO elects Maine DOT’s Barnhardt as president, Tennessee DOT’s Schroer as VP

Updated Nov 17, 2016

The American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials’ (AASHTO) board of directors has elected Maine Department of Transportation commissioner David Bernhardt as its next president and Tennessee DOT commissioner John Schroer as vice president.

Bernhardt has served as Maine DOT commissioner since Feb. 2011. Prior to this position, he served in multiple roles at the agency, including director of Engineering and Operations.

As AASHTO president, he will focus on developing strong legislation through communication with members of Congress and the new presidential administration, as well as implementing the association’s committee restructuring. AASHTO adopted a strategic plan two years ago tasking itself with reviewing the committee structure and operations.


“It’s an honor and a privilege to be selected to serve in this important national role,” Bernhardt says. “I’ve spent my entire professional career in transportation, rising through the ranks at Maine DOT as both a professional engineer and administrator. My experience has helped to prepare me for both the challenges and opportunities that lie ahead.”

Schroer has also served in his commissioner role since 2011, when he was named the 29th TDOT commissioner. He is also chairman of the AASHTO Standing Committee on Finance and Administration. Before joining the department, he served as mayor of Franklin, Tennessee.