ARTBA names 2007 award winners

The American Road and Transportation Builders Association recognized several transportation design and construction industry leaders during the association’s national convention in Fort Lauderdale, Florida, Oct. 10.

The Nello L. Teer, Jr. Award went to David C. Bramble, president of David A. Bramble in Chestertown, Maryland. This award annually honors a contractor member who has made outstanding contributions to the association’s Contractors Division and the transportation construction industry as a whole.

The Guy Kelcey Award was given to Gene McCormick, senior vice president of Parsons Brinckerhoff in Naples, Florida. The award is given each year to an ARTBA member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association’s P & D Division.

ARTBA division awards presented earlier this year include:

John “Jake” Landen Memorial Highway Safety Award: Traffic Safety Industry Division-Tom Hicks, director of the office of traffic and safety at the Maryland State Highway Administration.

S.S. Steinberg Award-Nicholas J. Garber, The Henry L. Kinnier professor of civil engineering at the University of Virginia.