Transportation researchers, students honored at 15th Annual CUTC Awards
Equipment World Staff | February 1, 2012

The Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC) honored six individuals for their outstanding achievements in the fields of transportation research and education Jan. 21 during the 15th Annual CUTC Awards Banquet in Washington, D.C.

The 2012 CUTC Awards were presented to students, educators and transportation officials in six categories:

Lifetime Achievement in Transportation Research & Education Award,” which recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions throughout their professional lives to transportation research and education by working in government, business or non-governmental organizations: Bill Millar, who retired as president of the American Public Transportation Association last fall.

The award for Distinguished Contribution to University Transportation and Research, given annually to individuals who have had a long history of significant and outstanding contribution to university-level transportation education and research: Dr. Daniel Turner, University of Alabama.

CUTC-ARTBA New Faculty Award,” presented to tenure-track educators in recognition of outstanding reaching and research contributions in the transportation field: Dr. Bruce Wang, associate professor at Texas A&M University.

Milton Pikarsky Award,” given to graduate students in the transportation field for outstanding doctoral dissertations, Master of Science theses or Master of Science/Master of Engineering reports with an emphasis on science and technology: Dr. Vikrant Suhas Vaz, Massachusetts Institute of Technology and Mr. Alexander Bigazzi, Portland State University.

Charlie V. Wootan Awardgiven to graduate students in the transportation field for outstanding dissertations, theses, or Master of Science/Master of Engineering reports with an emphasis on policy and planning: Dr. Kari Edison Watkins, University of Washington and Mrs. Carey Blackmar Barr, University of Texas, Austin.

Neville A. Parker Award,
given to students pursuing Master of Science degrees in the transportation field for outstanding non-thesis papers or projects in the areas of policy and planning, or science and technology: Mr. Michael Litschi, The Mineta Transportation Institute, San Jose State University and Mr. Rubens Sylvain, The City College of the City University of New York.

From our partners

There are no comments

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *