AASHTO appoints new committee and council leaders in “sweeping” change to expert panels

Updated Mar 24, 2017

TrafficjamAmerican Association of State Highway Transportation Officials (AASHTO) President and Maine Department of Transportation commissioner David Bernhardt has named multiple new chair positions for its various committees and councils in what the association calls the “biggest changes in decades” to those groups.

Last November the association’s board of directors vowed to “adopt an extensive revamping of its topic-focused targeted committees.”

“The board action is creating some major new panels and eliminating others, so the membership of many AASHTO groups will shift in the coming year,” AASHTO reports. “But a key early step was deciding who will chair the various panels. Bernhardt as president already chairs the board’s Executive Committee, and Tennessee DOT Commissioner John Schroer as AASHTO vice president will chair the new Strategic Management Committee. Schroer will also chair the Transportation Policy Forum that oversees six new modal councils and three special committees.”

The following list includes the new chairs and positions these individuals hold at their respective agency.

Councils and special committees

Active Transportation Council: Leslie Richards, secretary, Pennsylvania

Aviation Council: Marc Luiken, commissioner, Alaska

Highways and Streets Council: Kirk Steudle, director, Michigan

Public Transportation Council: Charles Zelle, commissioner, Minnesota

Rail Council: James Redeker, commissioner, Connecticut

Water Transportation Council: Shawn Wilson, secretary, Louisiana

Special Committee on Freight: Roger Millar, secretary, Washington

Special Committee on Research and Innovation: Brian Ness, director, Idaho

Special Committee on AASHTOWare: Michael Bousliman, chief information officer, Montana



Committee on Agency Administration: Michael Patterson, executive director, Oklahoma

Committee on Civil Rights: Grindley Johnson, deputy secretary, Virginia

Committee on Human Resources: Emily Elliott, HR Director, Virginia

Committee on Internal and External Audit: Daniel Kahnke, audit director, Minnesota

Committee on Planning: Scott Bennett, director, Arkansas

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Committee on Environment and Sustainability: Matthew Garrett, director, Oregon

Committee on Design: Carlos Braceras, executive director, Utah

Committee on Bridges and Structures: Gregg Fredrick, chief engineer, Wyoming

Committee on Traffic Engineering: Mike Holder, chief engineer, North Carolina

Committee on Right of Way and Utilities: Randy Park, project development director, Utah

Committee on Materials and Pavements: Moe Jamshidi, deputy director for operations, Nebraska

Committee on Construction: Malcolm Dougherty, director, California

Committee on Transportation System Operations: Shailen Bhatt, executive director, Colorado

Committee on Safety: Rudy Malfabon, director, Nevada

Committee on Communications: Kyle Schneweis, director, Nebraska

Committee on Performance-Based Management: Russell McMurray, commissioner, Georgia

Committee on Funding and Finance: Pete Rahn, secretary, Maryland