International Erosion Control Association installs new officer

At the 41st conference and expo of the International Erosion Control Association (IECA) held in Dallas, Feb. 16-20, 2010, the IECA Board of Directors installed one new officer and held an election to determine who would hold the position of treasurer. All other members of the Board of Directors will continue to serve in their current roles. The IECA Board of Directors is made up of nine members, each serving a three year term.

Philip Handley, REM, CPESC, CESSWI, treasurer – Handley is a Resource Protection and Compliance Supervisor for the San Antonio Water System, San Antonio, TX. Phil has been a member of IECA since 2003 and has served the South Central Chapter of IECA since 2003, currently serving as Chapter President since 2007. He is also the Board liaison to the Government Relations Committee.

Charles Riling, director – Riling is the Special Projects/Environmental Monitor for the West Virginia Division of Highways.

Riling joined IECA and the Mid-Atlantic Chapter (MAC) in 1997. He has been on the MAC Board of Directors since 1998and held several offices, including President from 2006-2008. Riling is the current Chair of IECA’s Chapter Advisory Committee.

Riling joins fellow Board members Mike Chase, CPESC, CPSWQ, CESSWI, Julie Etra, CPESC, MS, Philip Handley, REM, CPESC, CESSWI, Lee Johnson, CPESC, Sandy Mathews, Rick Morse, CPESC, CEnvP, Brock Peters, CISEC, and Tom Williams, MA, CPESC.

For more information about the IECA Board of Directors, go to