Mike Heiligenstein begins one-year term as IBTTA president

Mike HeiligensteinMike Heiligenstein

Mike Heiligenstein has begun his one-year term as president of the International Bridge, Tunnel and Turnpike Association (IBTTA).

Heiligenstein, who was elected at IBBTA’s 81st Annual Meeting in Vancouver, began his term on January 1.

Heiligenstein also serves as Executive Director of the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority (CTRMA) in Austin, Texas, as well as on the advisory board of the Texas A&M Transportation Institute, among other committees. He has worked with CTRMA since 2002 and oversaw the development of the 183A toll road in Williamson County.

“Throughout 2014, the tolling industry will have the opportunity to share experiences and learn from one another to bring best practices to work on behalf of our customers especially during IBTTA’s 82nd Annual Meeting and Exhibition in Austin, Texas,” Heiligenstein said in a written statement.

Patrick D. Jones, Executive Director and CEO of IBTTA, added that this year is “a crucial year” for tolling.

“The infrastructure funding debate across the globe continues to highlight the need for tolling and other funding methods to help maintain and reconstruct our highways, bridges and tunnels,” Jones said. “Mike, our officers and directors will guide our association during this critical debate.”

Here’s a quick look at the officers who began their terms on Wednesday:

  • President Mike Heiligenstein of Austin, Texas: Executive Director of the Central Texas Regional Mobility Authority

  • 1st Vice President Javier Rodriguez of Miami, Florida: Executive Director of the Miami-Dade Expressway Authority

  • 2nd Vice President Buddy Croft of Jamestown, Rhode Island: Executive Director of the Rhode Island Turnpike and Bridge Authority

  • International Vice President Emanuela Stocchi of Rome, Italy: Responsible for International Affairs for Associazione Italiana Societa Concessionarie Autostrade e Trafori

  • Immediate Past President Rob Horr of Alexandria Bay, New York: Executive Director of the Thousand Islands Bridge Authority

Eight new directors also began their terms on January 1:

  • Chris Tomlinson, Executive Director of the Georgia State Road and Tollway Authority

  • Chris Waszczuk, Administrator of the New Hampshire Department of Transportation, Bureau of Turnpikes in Concord, New Hampshire

  • Diane Scaccetti, Executive Director and CEO of Florida’s Turnpike Enterprise

  • Gerald Carrigan, Executive Director of the North Texas Tollway Authority in Plano, Texas

  • Andrew Fremier, P.E., Deputy Executive Director of the Bay Area Toll Authority, Metropolitan Transportation Commission in Oakland, California

  • Samuel Johnson, Director of Operations for the San Diego Association of Government in San Diego, California

  • Tim Stewart, Executive Director of the Oklahoma Turnpike Authority in Oklahoma City, OK

  • Cynthia Ward, Director of the Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority in Washington, D.C.