EPA facing imminent lawsuit from 5 states

Five states plan to sue the Environmental Protection Agency over a lack of restrictions on greenhouse gas emissions. California, Connecticut, Pennsylvania, Oregon and New Jersey, along with New York City, will participate in the lawsuit, according to a letter California Attorney General Jerry Brown wrote to the EPA. The letter is a requirement prior to filing a lawsuit.

The states’ demands include regulations to reduce pollutions from off-road vehicles, ships and aircraft. California is currently fighting the EPA in federal court over a 2007 decision which prohibits them from implementing emission standards at the state level. A coalition of environmental groups is also threatening to file suit against the EPA and plans to send a letter of their intent later this week.