ARTBA Foundation announces “Globe” awards for environmental excellence

Highway and bridge improvement projects from nine states were recognized Oct. 10 for their contributions to environmental protection and mitigation at the ARTBA Transportation Development Foundation’s eighth annual “Globe Awards” breakfast, held in Fort Lauderdale, Florida.

Established by the ARTBA Board of Directors in 1998, the “Globe Awards” recognize private-sector firms and public-sector transportation agencies that do an outstanding job in protected and/or enhancing the natural environment in the planning, design and construction of U.S. transportation infrastructure; and transportation construction-related product manufacturers and material suppliers that utilize exemplary environmental processes to protect and enhance the natural environment.

In the “Highway” category, first place was awarded to the Florida Department of Transportation and PB Americas Inc. for their “Interstate-4 Reconstruction Project” in Tampa, Florida. Broshear Contractors and Green Heron won second place for “Green Heron Wildlife Sanctuary & Wetland Habitat Park.” Third place went to the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Engineering District 9, the Federal Highway Administration, New Enterprise Stone and Lime Company and Gannett Fleming for their “Route 30 Transportation Improvement Project.”

In the “Road” category, first place went to the City of Shoreline, Washington and CH2M Hill for their “Aurora Multimodal and Interurban Bridge Project.” Second place was presented to RBF Consulting, the County of Orange, the City of Laguna Beach, California, and LSA Associates for “SR-133/Laguna Canyon Road Project.”

In the “Bridge” category, HDR and Friends of Missoula Parks won first place for their “Rattlesnake Creek Pedestrian Bridge Project.” Second place was awarded to FIGG, the Maine Department of Transportation, the Federal Highway Administration and Cianbro/Reed & Reed for their “Penobscot Narrows Bridge & Observatory Project.” Third place was a tie between the “Interstate-75 Underpass at Churchill Way Project” by the Texas Department of Transportation and the City of Dallas; and the “Hicorky Street Bridge Replacement Project” by Michael Backer, Jr., the Pennsylvania Department of Transportation District 1, the City of Warren, Pennsylvania, and Macaro Construction Company.

In the “Transit” category, first place was presented to Parsons Transportation Group, Kiewit Western, Carter & Burgess, Regional Transportation District and the Colorado Department of Transportation for their “T-Rex Project.”