ARTBA foundation names scholarship recipients

Daniel Doyle, of Sault Saint Marie, Mich., Sara Beth Farley of Sweetwater, Tenn., and Peter Howland of Gresham, Ore., have never met, and yet they all have something in common: their fathers were killed while working in highway construction zones. To help them in their pursuit of a college education, they received a 2004 Highway Worker Memorial Scholarship.

Eleven students have received a $2,000 scholarship from the American Road and Transportation Builder’s Association’s Transportation Development Foundation.

The scholarship program was developed in 1999 with a $100,000 gift to the foundation from two Roanoke, Va., highway contractors and their companies. The scholarship recognizes the academic efforts of the children of killed or permanently disabled highway construction workers. Approximately 1,200 Americans, including more than 100 highway workers, die each year in roadway construction work zone accidents.

In addition to the students previously mentioned, recipients of the award are: Ronnie and Kristin Cooper of Hanlontown, Iowa; Carrie Imel of Ashland, Ore.; Timothy Hulitt of Bolton, Miss.; Emily and Lily Beth Parsons of Sandyville, W. Va.; Jessie Patterson of East Helena, Mont.; and William Brandon Rice of Centerville, Ind.

If you would like to nominate a student who could benefit from the scholarship program, or would like to make a financial contribution to the program, call ARTBA scholarship awards manager Rhonda Britton at 202-289-4434. To find out more about the scholarship program and its requirements, click on the link to the right.