ARTBA Foundation seeks nominations for the 2012 Transportation Development ‘Hall of Fame’

The American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) Foundation is now accepting nominations for the 2012 “Transportation Development Hall of Fame.”

The Hall honors individuals or families from the public and private sectors who have made extraordinary contributions to U.S. transportation development or demonstrated exceptional leadership over their lifetime.
Nominees are considered in two categories:

Transportation Design & Construction Industry Innovators: Honors the men and women who discovered or created a “game changing” product or process that significantly advanced transportation design, construction and/or safety.  It seeks to honor the original innovator.
Transportation Design & Construction Industry Leaders (Individuals or Families): Recognizes men, women and families who have made significant contributions—beyond just having successful businesses or careers—that have notably helped advance the interests and image of the transportation design, construction and safety industry.

Nomination forms must be received by close of business Friday, April 27.
Nomination Process
Anyone can nominate a candidate.  ARTBA membership is not required.  Individuals can be living or inducted to the Hall posthumously.  The selection process is extremely competitive, and only a very limited number of individuals will be inducted annually.

A committee of judges that includes industry journalists will select the inductees.  Two-thirds of the committee must vote in favor of a nominee’s induction.  Winners will be announced in the summer 2012.

Inductees for the 2011 class, included: James L. Lammie, former president and chief executive officer of Parsons Brinckerhoff; Enoch Needles, a founding partner in HNTB; and W. Denney Pate, senior vice president and principal bridge engineer at FIGG.  The 2010 class featured: Bob Burleson, president of the Florida Transportation Builders’ Association; Stan and Jack Lanford, of Lanford Brothers Company and Adams Construction, respectively; and Philip Koehring, founder of the Koehring Machine Company.

Visit for the nomination form, or contact ARTBA’s Awards & Scholarship Program Manager Holly Bolton at [email protected] with questions.