ABC salutes firms for dedication to safety

The Associated Builders and Contractors has announced its 2005 national safety excellence award winners, which were selected from firms achieving platinum status in ABC’s Safety Training and Evaluation Process program.

To receive platinum status companies must have written site-specific safety and health programs, effective employee training for avoidance of worksite hazards and designated safety personnel and must have had no fatalities or catastrophic incidents in the past three years. Firms must also have an incidence rate lower than the industry average for the past three years and incorporate employee involvement into the safety and health program.

Interviews conducted by members of ABC’s National Safety Committee also helped judges select the winners.

“ABC salutes these winners for their outstanding records and proven dedication to construction workplace safety,” said Kirk Pickerel, president and chief executive of ABC.

The National Safety Excellence Awards, initiated in 1991, are presented in three major categories including general construction, heavy and industrial construction and specialty construction.

National Safety Excellence Award Winners — General Construction Contractors

Straub Construction
Bonsall, Calif.

TerWisscha Construction
Willmar, Minn.

DiSabatino Construction
Wilmington, Del.

Three Rivers Corporation
Midland, Mich.

D.E. Harvey Builders

Austin Commercial, LP

Hensel Phelps Construction
Chantilly, Va.

Heavy and Industrial Construction Contractors

Leighton A. White
Milford, N.H.

The Saxon Group
Sugar Hill, Ga.

Hourigan Construction
Richmond, Va.

Civil Mechanical
Clute, Texas

Corpus Christi, Texas

A&B Builders
Beaumont, Texas

Austin Industrial

Specialty Contractors

Project Skills.
Cincinnati, Ohio

Thomas Glass Company
Columbus, Ohio

Harper Limbach
Sanford, Fla.

Wolfenson Electric
Clute, Texas

Big J Enterprises
Albuquerque, N.M.

Industrial Specialty Contractors
Baton Rouge, La.

Mechanical Technologies Group