PennDOT Star of Excellence Award recipients saved taxpayers $6 million

Updated Jun 10, 2015

2008PennDOTLogoColorThe Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) presented the department’s highest recognition, the Star of Excellence award, to 25 employees during a recent ceremony at the Governor’s Residence.

“The Star of Excellence award illustrates that these employees, through their dedication, innovation and energy keep our agency in the forefront of customer service,” PennDOT Secretary Leslie Richards said. “We estimate that this group of exemplary employees has saved taxpayers roughly $6 million through their efforts.”

Each year, the Star of Excellence is given to employees “who characterize PennDOT’s values of service, performance and integrity, and represent a variety of organizational positions.”

Winners from the Harrisburg-area include Kristen Sims, Steven W. Panko, Tammi Popp, Charles W. Zimmerman, Daniel P. Farley, Jr. and Kenda Jo M. Gardner, with Michael D. Toddes and Robert D. Shirk from PennDOT’s Harrisburg-based Engineering District 8.

The list below includes the remaining winners. PennDOT does not have a District 7.

District 1 (Crawford, Erie, Forest, Mercer, Venango and Warren counties):
• Scott A. McMasters, Highway Designer

District 2 (Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clinton, Elk, Juniata, Mifflin, McKean and Potter counties):
• Leeanne Davis, P.E., Civil Engineer Supervisor
• Mary Jo Kitko, Information Technology Generalist 2

District 3 (Bradford, Columbia, Lycoming, Montour, Northumberland, Snyder, Sullivan, Tioga and Union counties):
• Jeffrey M. Wenner, P.E., Civil Engineer Manager
• Brian Casey, Highway Foreman III

District 4 (Lackawanna, Luzerne, Pike, Susquehanna, Wayne and Wyoming counties):
• Walter P. Checefsky, Transportation Construction Manager 1

District 5 (Berks, Carbon, Lehigh, Monroe, Northampton and Schuylkill counties):
• Edward Sadusky, Highway Foreman III
• Gary A. Farabaugh, Transportation Construction Manager 2
• Ronald J. Young, Community Relations Coordinator

District 6 (Bucks, Chester, Delaware, Montgomery and Philadelphia counties):
• Wendy Bowes, Purchasing Agent 1

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

District 8 (Adams, Cumberland, Dauphin, Franklin, Lancaster, Lebanon, Perry and York counties):
• Michael D. Toddes, Highway Foreman 3, Adams County
• Robert D. Shirk, Traffic Control Specialist

District 9 (Bedford, Blair, Cambria, Fulton, Huntingdon and Somerset counties):
• Thaddeus E. Mikolajczyk, Jr., P.L.S., Surveyor 2 (Chief-of-Surveys)

District 10 (Armstrong, Butler, Clarion, Indiana and Jefferson counties):
• Ronald D. Schreckengost, P.E., Sr. Civil Engineer Supervisor
• David P. Cook, Transportation Planning Specialist

District 11 (Allegheny, Beaver and Lawrence counties):
• Jeffrey L. Baker, Senior Bridge Structural Designer
• Michael Lonergan, Highway Foreman 2

District 12 (Fayette, Greene, Washington and Westmoreland counties):
• Brian N. Malik, Highway Foreman II
• Mandy Fike, Construction Cost Manager