ARTBA seeks nominations for Women Leaders in Transportation Design & Construction Awards

Updated Jul 16, 2016
The Glass Hammer AwardThe Glass Hammer Award

The American Road & Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) is seeking nominations for the annual awards program for its Women Leaders in Transportation Design and Construction Council.

The awards were set up six years ago to honor individuals, companies and public agencies promoting “leadership and career advancement for women in the industry through mentoring, recognition, educational activities and networking.”

Three categories of awards are presented. These include:

  • The Ethel S. Birchland Lifetime Achievement Award
    Named after ARTBA’s executive director from the mid-1920s, this award is given to at least one woman who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and long-term service in the industry’s public or private sectors.
  • The Glass Hammer Award
    This award honors at least one company in the transportation construction industry that has innovative programs and activities directed at successfully promoting women leaders within their organization.
  • Future Industry Spotlight Award:
    Two women students are recognized for this award, which seeks those enrolled in undergraduate or graduate studies at a U.S. college or university who have achieved outstanding academic records and demonstrated extraordinary leadership skills within and outside of the academic environment.

ARTBA does not require membership for the awards. Nominations must be received by Sept. 1 and more information is available at or by contacting ARTBA’s Eileen Houlihan at 202-289-4434 or [email protected].