ARTBA names 2010 division award winners

The American Road and Transportation Builders Association (ARTBA) recognized transportation construction design and construction industry leaders October 4 with awards during the association’s national convention, held in New York City.

The association announced the following division awards:

Nello L. Teer Jr.: Geoffrey W. Clarke, vice president of construction, New Enterprise Stone & Lime Co., New Enterprise, Pa. Created in 1988 as a tribute to contractor and Past ARTBA Chairman (1959-61) Nello L. Teer, Jr., this award annually honors a contractor member who has made outstanding contributions to the association’s Contractors Division and the transportation construction industry.

Guy Kelcey: John Derr, vice president and regional transportation director for Gannett Fleming in Phoenix, Arizona. This award, which honors Guy Kelcey, one of the Planning & Design (P&D) Division’s organizers, is given each year to an ARTBA member who has exhibited a high degree of service to the association’s P&D Division.

Paul F. Phelan Memorial: Michael Cegelis, senior vice president with American Bridge Company in Coraopolis, Pa. Established in 1971, it is given annually in recognition of outstanding contributions to the ARTBA Materials and Services Division and the transportation construction industry.

John “Jake” Landen Memorial Highway Safety: Ken Kobetsky, program director for engineering at the American Association of State Highway & Transportation Officials. Established in 1989 in memory of Traffic Safety Industry Division leader and Past ARTBA Chairman (1976) J.C. Landen, this annual award recognizes outstanding contributions to highway safety.

S.S. Steinberg: Dr. Chandra Bhat, transportation engineering professor at the University of Texas at Austin. Created in honor of S.S. Steinberg, the founding president of the Research andEducation Division, the award recognizes an individual who has made remarkable contributions to transportation education.

P3 “Entrepreneurs of the Year” Award: Amadeo Saenz, Jr., executive director of the Texas Department of Transportation (public sector), and Nicolas Rubio, president of Cintra U.S. (private sector). The Public Private Partnerships (P3) Division annually recognizes individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the promotion of P3s that advance transportation improvements.