ACI names winners of ACI Award for University Student Activities program

The American Concrete Institute (ACI) announces the winners of the ACI Award for University Student Activities program, designed to recognize universities whose students and faculty are active in ACI and other concrete-related activities.

Throughout 2011, students and faculty from universities participated in ACI-related activities to earn points towards achieving Excellent/Outstanding University status. Some eligible activities included student ACI membership, participation in ACI student competitions, attendance at ACI conventions, presence of an active ACI student chapter at the university, and participation in ACI technical, educational, and certification committees.

Universities earning 12 or more points during 2011 were recognized for the ACI Excellent University Award. Those universities included the following:

·        Aria University of Sciences and Sustainability
·        Arizona State University
·        Auburn University
·        Florida International University
·        Middle Tennessee State University
·        Missouri University of Science & Technology
·        New Jersey Institute of Technology
·        North Carolina State University
·        Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
·        Texas State University – San Marcos
·        United States Military Academy
·        Universidad Autónoma de Nuevo León
·        University of Arkansas at Fayetteville
·        University of Central Florida
·        University of Florida
·        University of Houston
·        University of Kansas
·        University of Louisiana at Lafayette
·        University of Minnesota Duluth
·        University of Missouri – Kansas City
·        University of Texas at Austin
·        Villanova University

Universities earning 6-11 points during 2011 were recognized for the ACI Outstanding University Award. Those universities included the following:

·        British Columbia Institute of Technology
·        Cleveland State University
·        Escuela Colombia de Ingeniería Julio Garavito
·        Instituto Tecnologico de La Paz
·        Purdue University
·        Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
·        San Jose State University
·        Tennessee Technological University
·        Trine University
·        Universidad Rafael Landivar de Quetzaltenango
·        University of Colorado Denver
·        University of Michigan
·        University of Puerto Rico, Mayaguez Campus
·        University of Toronto
·        Valparaiso University

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Universities are invited to begin the application process for the 2012 year, for activities completed Jan. 1 – Dec. 31, 2012. Award-winning universities will be recognized at the ACI Spring 2013 Convention in Minneapolis, Minn. For more information on eligible activities and their respective point values and entry forms, please visit