House passes 90-day transportation extension, motion for conference could come today

The U.S. House of Representatives passed a 90-day extension of the surface transportation program (from June 30 to Sept. 30) at current funding levels by a vote of 293 to127 on April 18, setting the table for a conference with the Senate on a multi-year surface transportation reauthorization bill, according to an eDigest & Washington Watch report from the National Stone, Sand & Gravel Association (NSSGA).

Senate conferees were announced Tuesday, April 24, with eight Democrats and six Republicans: Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Max Baucus (D-Mont.), Jay Rockefeller (D-W.Va.), Dick Durbin (D-Ill.), Tim Johnson (D-S.D.), Chuck Schumer (D-N.Y.), Bill Nelson (D-Fla.), Robert Menendez (D-N.J.), Jim Inhofe (R-Okla.), David Vitter (R-La.), Richard Shelby (R-Ala.), Orrin Hatch (R-Utah), Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-Texas) and John Hoeven (R-N.D.). The House could vote on a motion to proceed to conference as early as today, April 25, the report noted.