North Texas Tollway Authority changes leadership

At its regularly scheduled meeting on Sept. 21, the North Texas Tollway Authority Board of Directors elected Kenneth Barr and Bill Moore to the positions of chairman and vice chairman, respectively.

“I’m honored to have the opportunity to serve and lead the NTTA board,” Barr said following his acceptance of the office. “I look forward to working with my colleagues on the board, NTTA staff, our stakeholders and our community to advance mobility in North Texas for the benefit of the driving public.”

Barr was nominated by outgoing chairman Victor Vandergriff, who chose not to seek reelection as the Authority’s leader.  “I have thoroughly enjoyed my time as chairman at NTTA and believe that together we have been productive during my tenure as both chairman and vice chairman,” Vandergriff said.  “But the choice is really easy for me to step aside and have someone else chair the agency,” referring to changes facing the Authority as well as his board personal and professional commitments.

Vandergriff, who has served on the board since 2007, will continue to represent Tarrant County serving his term through 2012.

Barr was appointed to the NTTA board in May 2008 by the Tarrant County Commissioners Court. He is a consultant on governmental relations and public affairs with the Barr Consulting Group. Previously, he was elected mayor of Fort Worth four times and served in that capacity from 1996 until retiring in 2003.  Prior to being elected mayor, he served three years as a city council member.

As an elected official, Barr served as a member of the board of Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport; president of the Texas Municipal League; chairman of the Transportation and Communications Committee and a member of the Advisory Board for the U.S. Conference of Mayors; chairman of the Transportation and Infrastructure Committee and on the Board of the National League of Cities; and as a member of the North Texas Regional Transportation Council.  He also has served as chairman of the Fort Worth Transportation Authority; chairman of DFW RAILTRAN Policy Committee; and chairman of the Texas Department of Transportation’s Trans-Texas Corridor Advisory Committee.

Partner Insights
Information to advance your business from industry suppliers

Collin County appointed Moore to the board in 2009.  Moore is owner of W Moore Project Consultants, Inc. in Plano and a registered professional engineer.  He works primarily with manufacturing companies managing engineering and capital investment projects.