The best transportation projects in the Midwest honored

Projects that are giving commuters more travel options to reduce congestion, improve commercial trade, and shorten construction times have been recognized as winners of America’s Transportation Awards at the annual meeting of the Mid America Association of State Transportation Officials (AASHTO).

“States are expediting construction more quickly than ever,” said Susan Martinovich, AASHTO president and director of the Nevada Department of Transportation. “This not only saves the taxpayers money, it reduces the amount of inconvenience and time the traveling public spends stuck in traffic. This competition recognizes these important achievements that might otherwise be overlooked.”

AASHTO, AAA, and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce cosponsor the annual awards competition to recognize the best transportation projects in America using three main categories – On Time, Under Budget, and Innovative Management.

Ten transportation projects from seven state DOTs were entered into this year’s Midwestern competition.

In the On Time category: the Michigan Department of Transportation won for its Fix on I-196 Project (medium project division).

Three states received awards in the Innovative Management category: the Kansas Department of Transportation for its K-23 Practical Improvement Project (small project division), the Minnesota Department of Transportation for its Urban Partnership Agreement Project (medium project division), and the Michigan Department of Transportation for its Ambassador Bridge Gateway Project (large project division).

Winners in four regional competitions will compete for the national Grand Prize and People’s Choice Award, which will be presented at the AASHTO Annual Meeting Oct. 16 in Detroit. The Grand Prize is awarded to the state DOT project receiving the greatest number of points in judging by a panel of experts. The separate People’s Choice Award is presented to the transportation project that receives the greatest number of online votes from the general public. Online voting will begin Aug. 31.